top of page

24 Things you Might not Know about Me

Yesterday was my 24th birthday, yay!!!!! I felt (and continue to feel) so incredibly blessed and loved from all the sweet messages I have received. I truly have the best friends and family around and Y'all make the messi bits of life just a little bit better.

In light of celebrating my day of birth and 24 years of life on this Earth, I thought I'd share 24 things you might not know about me:

1- Elephants are my favorite animal in the whole wide world (like I would keep one in the backyard if it was ethical).

2- I am the 5th of 6 children (I have 4 older sisters and 1 younger brother).

3- My favorite color is purple.

4- Ben and Jerry's S'mores ice cream is the best flavor and I'll fight you on that.

5- Jimmy and I met through our singles ward, but we came to realize that I grew up in the same ward as his aunt and uncle, his mom played on the same softball team as my dad at BYU, and our parents only live like 5 minutes away from each other (small world, huh?).

6- Reading is my favorite hobby, but I'm working on learning how to sew and trying to become more crafty.

7- I have restless leg syndrome and when it flares up it is the literal worst thing ever!!!

8- My favorite book(s) is (are) the Harry Potter series; I've read the series 17 times (and am about to go for 18) and my awesome hubby got me the first three illustrated versions for my birthday!

9- I work as a nanny for 3-4 different families (10 kids in all, ages 9 months-4 years) and love every minute of it.

10- I used to work grave shifts (10pm - 6am) at a rehab center for women with eating disorders and LOVED my job.

(This is what I looked like at work most nights)

11- I'm a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and love the gospel; I also almost served a mission to Frankfurt, Germany (there will be a post about this in the future, keep an eye out).

12- I have to sleep on the left side of the bed.

13- I love doing laundry, but I really don't like doing the dishes.

14- At various points in my life I wanted to be a librarian, a nurse, a midwife, a doula, a nanny in a foreign country, a teacher (hence the degree in early childhood education), and a mom (which has never changed).

15- Shows I love the binge-watch include: Friends, Boy Meets World, Psych, Full House/Fuller House, Charmed, and the Office.

16- My favorite amusement park is Busch Gardens, closely followed by DisneyLand (that place is truly magical).

17- I've never broken a bone, but I did have stitches once due to foot surgery.

18- Following #17, I have a screw in my left ankle because I have fallen arches (or flat feet).

19- I'm like a baby in that if I'm fed and getting enough sleep, I'm happy; and the reverse, if I don't get enough sleep or I'm hungry I get REALLY grumpy (hanger is a real thing y'all).

20- Any place with warm sunshine and a sandy beach is my favorite place in the world.

21- Christmas is my favorite holiday because of the spirit it brings and the time I get to spend with my family.

22- I hate/am scared of spiders, snakes, rodents, and all other gross creatures that roam this earth.

23- My favorite movies include: CLUE, Mulan, Anastasia, Pearl Harbor, and AustenLand.

24- I really want this blog to help others feel not so alone in their mental health journeys and as they deal with the messi bits of everyday life. Life can be tough, but you can be tougher and real life is to enjoyed, not just endured.

I hope that you now feel a little more connected with me and would love to hear about things we have in common, so feel free to leave a comment and tell me a little bit about yourself.

Much love and stay messi,

Jessi


SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE

Messi Bits

© 2023 by Design for Life.

Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page