top of page

Messi Bits Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10, a Novel by Ruth Ware


Title: The Woman in Cabin 10

Author: Ruth Ware

Genre: Suspense-Thriller

Synopsis: In this tightly wound, enthralling story reminiscent of Agatha Christie's works, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. The sky is clear, the waters calm, and the veneered, select guests jovial as the exclusive cruise ship, the Aurora, begins her voyage in the picturesque North Sea.

At first, Lo's stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo hears what she can only describe as a dark and terrifying nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers and crew members remain accounted for ---- and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo's desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong...

My Rating: 5/5

My Review:

I absolutely loved this book! As someone who grew up on a steady diet of Nancy Drew, any type of mystery novel really gets my literary juices flowing. Ware has a way of writing that draws you in and doesn't let you leave until you've turned the last page (in fact, I finished this book in only 3 days because I just HAD to know where it was going). The plot has a very nice pace to it and keeps the reader guessing until the very end. Lo's inner struggle with over-whelming anxiety and panic attacks spoke to me on a very personal level (I also struggle with anxiety and panic attacks) and was described in a very raw, real way. It was nice to see something I struggle with portrayed so prominently in a book. I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone and everyone (just be prepared to stay up late into the night, saying to yourself "just one more page...I'll just finish the chapter...Just one more chapter).

Discount Code here


SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page